Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council
Statement Concerning the Terrorist Attacks
September 12, 2001

We, the member nations of the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council, gathered today to express our solidarity with the people of the United States of America following yesterday's tragic events. These brutal and senseless atrocities have caused suffering on a massive scale. Our deepest sympathies go to the victims and their families.

We are appalled by these barbaric acts and condemn them unconditionally. These acts were an attack on our common values. We will not allow these values to be compromised by those who follow the path of violence. We pledge to undertake all efforts to combat the scourge of terrorism. We stand united in our belief that the ideals of partnership and co-operation will prevail.
  1. EAPC Member Countries are : Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrghyz Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (2), Tadjikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan.
  2. Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.